Watch List Mania: Next Up, the Davey O’Brien

By Adam Kramer   Jul. 15, 2011

Our stance on both watch lists and preseason rankings is already abundantly clear. They more or less mean nothing, and once the players finally hit the field (stressing the finally because this offseason is getting lengthy) things can change rather quickly.

Take last year’s Davey O’Brien award winner for example. The award, which is given to the best quarterback in college football, went to Auburn QB and Heisman winner Cam Newton.

Now,  how many of you had him pegged going into the fall or even had him on your preseason award radar? Go ahead and put your hands down, Auburn fans. In any event, here are the 38 players that have been names to the Davey O’Brien Watch List.

Matt Barkley, USC
Tyler Bray, Tennessee
Alex Carder, Western Michigan
Zach Collaros, Cincinnati
Kirk Cousins, Michigan State
Dayne Crist, Notre Dame
Austin Davis, Southern Miss
Dominique Davis, East Carolina
Nick Foles, Arizona
Jeff Godfrey, UCF
Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Chandler Harnish, Northern Illinois
Jake Heaps, BYU
Landry Jones, Oklahoma
Case Keenum, Houston
G.J. Kinne, Tulsa
Ryan Lindley, San Diego State
Andrew Luck, Stanford
EJ Manuel, Florida State
Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
Bryant Moniz, Hawaii
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Aaron Murray, Georgia
Danny O’Brien, Maryland
Kyle Padron, SMU
Dan Persa, Northwestern
Chris Relf, Mississippi State
Sean Renfree, Duke
Corey Robinson, Troy
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois
Geno Smith, West Virginia
Tino Sunseri, Pittsburgh
Ryan Tannehill, Texas A&M
Darron Thomas, Oregon
Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
Russell Wilson, Wisconsin
Jordan Wynn, Utah

  • Davey O'Brien
  • Add A Comment