The first touchdown courtesy of the new celebration penalty has officially been called back. The guilty culprit? LSU punter, yes punter, Brad Wing.
His 44-yard fake punt touchdown against Florida was taken off the board after making a celebratory gesture on the 5-yard line.
And here it is.
LSU had to settle for a field goal instead of a touchdown after the penalty was called. Although this is the first penalty of this variety to be called, it certainly won’t be the last.
This one came early on with LSU up somewhat comfortably against a beat up Florida squad, but this awful, awful (can’t stress that word enough) rule will eventually decide a game.
(via SB Nation)