Before we make our case for whether or not Virginia Tech’s Danny Coale pulled in this grab in overtime of the Sugar Bowl, we must first appreciate the moment itself.
You can debate the call in either direction, but you cannot debate that this is one of the finest plays you will ever see a wideout make. This might be the best ruled incompletion you will ever see.
When we saw the catch live it appeared there was absolutely NO CHANCE he somehow caught the ball and got his knee down. Upon replay after replay, however, we saw just how close (and perhaps good) it actually was.
The call was ruled a touchdown on the field, and after watching this play close to a hundred times I simply would not have overturned it. It’s a tough call, a really tough call, and you can certainly make a case for both sides. It’s incredibly close but since a touchdown was the call before the booth got a look at it, I would have stayed with it. I thought his elbow came down in bounds and that he secured the ball enough to back up the initial ruling. Just my .02 cents.
It’s a moot point now (although it is a solid debate), and the story after this incompletion is somewhat simple. Virginia Tech kicker Justin Myer – who was superb this evening given the scenario - finally missed a kick in OT, and Michigan made their field goal shortly after to win the game.
And while Danny Coale’s non-catch catch won’t show up in the box score, he deserves a ginormous Internet applause for this one.